Yoga Philosophy

Panch Kosha or Five-layered existence in Yoga

Yoga clearly says that we are not just the physical body but has four more progressively subtler layers of existence. These five layers or sheaths correspond to successive stages of consciousness which in turn represents the existential levels in the awareness of an Individual. From the grossest physical body, the yoga practitioner goes on refining his perception to experience the

Read More

The Climax of Yoga: Relaxation

Relaxation is the climax of yoga. Practice of yoga and relaxation go together. In relaxation there is the seed of awakening. When you have learned the art of relaxation, you are the master of yoga. But we are hardly relaxed. In the core of our being we are tensed and thereby away from our true nature. In utter relaxation alone

Read More

Understanding Knowledge

It is said knowledge is power. However the case may not be so in yoga and spirituality. Knowledge may appear to give some lead in mundane life activities and survival, but existentially knowledge is a burden. Once we understand the meaning of knowledge in its various connotations, the knowledge as we commonly understand it, will no longer be something to

Read More